E-News Sign Up  


Home > Events > Annual Events > Human Rights Awards Dinner > Archives > 2011 Human Rights Awards Dinner

HRAD 2011 Evite Header

Thursday, May 19, 2011

Minneapolis Convention Center
1301 2nd Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55403

***Thank you to our sponsors, supporters, and volunteers who helped us bring in record proceeds at the 2011 Human Rights Awards Dinner. It was an incredible show of support for the important work of upholding human rights at home and around the globe. Photos from the event are below: 




Auction Items

Award Recipients

Dr. Shirin Ebadi



Cocktail Reception with Dr. Ebadi, 5:00 P.M.
Reception and Silent Auction, 5:00 P.M.
Dinner and Program with Keynote Address by Dr. Ebadi, 6:30 P.M. to 8:30 P.M.


A list of of our generous sponsors can be found here.

2011 Don and Arvonne Fraser Human Rights Award Recipient and Keynote Speaker:

Dr. Shirin Ebadi

Dr. Ebadi, who was the first woman judge in Iran, won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2003 for her courageous work supporting democracy and human rights. Her human rights work in Iran began with the Islamic Revolution in 1979, when she was dismissed from her position and made a clerk in the same court she once presided over.

In 1992 she began a private law practice, taking child abuse cases; defending political dissidents, members of the minority Bahai faith, and journalists; and representing the families of people murdered by the government. Dr. Ebadi's book, Iran Awakening: A Memoir of Revolution and Hope (2006), was a New York Times bestseller and is published in 16 languages. Her newest book, The Golden Cage, released in April 2011, will be available at the Human Rights Awards Dinner.

Click here to read a Wall Street Journal interview with Dr. Ebadi

Click here to read and hear NPR's Robert Siegel interview Dr. Ebadi.

Come to hear her inspirational and educational message!

If you are unable to attend the Awards Dinner but would like to support the work of The Advocates for Human Rights, click here.

Host Committee

Rachel Hamlin, Chair
Ada Alden
Chris Bercaw
Aviva Breen
Deborah Fowler
Loan Huynh
Phyllis Kahn
Marlene Kayser
Hyder Khan
Mary Louise Klas
Sam Myers
Hung Nguyen
Lynn Olson
Jacqueline Regis
Irfan Khan Sandozi, MD
Chelli Sorel
Nancy Speer
Jean Thomson & John Sandbo
Sarah Vander Zanden
Jane & Dobby West

Background on the Human Rights Awards Dinner

Each year, The Advocates hosts a Human Rights Awards Dinner to honor individuals who have made a significant contribution to The Advocates' work and to the human rights movement locally and globally. The Don and Arvonne Fraser Human Rights Award is given annually to an outstanding individual or organization promoting human rights. A list of past recipients of the Human Rights Award can be found here

The Human Rights Awards Dinner also recognizes the many volunteers that make The Advocates' work possible.


In This Section